The Diaconal Ministry of Province I provides opportunities for networking, support and further enrichment of deacons and various supporters of this servant ministry.


Since the 1980s there have been periodic regional gatherings to provide education, support and fellowship for deacons, deacons-in-formation and those families, friends and colleagues who support deacons and diaconal ministries in New England and neighboring dioceses of the Episcopal Church and the Anglican Church in Canada.  Since 2004, there have been biennial regional gatherings planned and conducted by volunteer design teams led by a convener or co-conveners and in coordination with staff and administrative support from Province I of the Episcopal Church. In the Spring of 2015, diaconal leaders piloted a series of web conferences designed to share wisdom and continue conversations between biennial conferences. Deacons Talking on the Road to Emmaus was launched as a monthly web conference series (October to May) after the 2016 conference.  In September 2015, after two years of development, diocesan representatives interested in sharing diaconal education, training and formation activities launched the Province I School for Deacons with a two-year deacon formation program.


Deacons Talking on the Road to Emmaus is a web-based way for deacons to walk with each other and share stories in hope of animating, supporting and renewing diaconal ministries.


Stay Connected

Episcopal Province of New England (Province I)

Emily Keniston, MS. Ed.

Province I Coordinator

PO Box 8059, Portland, ME 04104

(207) 210-7500


  • Grey Facebook Icon

Privacy Policy

© Copyright 2017 The Episcopal Province of New England. All rights reserved.

Write us

Mike Andres, NH Class of 2018; Ned Lewis, CT 2017; Jessie Karpf, CT 2017; Rev. April Alford-Harkey, CT 2017; Sandy Alford-Harkey, CT, Ministry Dog; Rev. Jane Griesbach, WMA Faculty; Robert Izzy, RI 2018; Ven. Jan Grinnell, RI Faculty; Rev. Dr. Molly James, CT Dean of Formation; Rev. Warren Hicks, WMA Faculty; Rev. Ron Steed, CT 2017; Beth Washburn, WMA 2017; Linda Taupier, WMA 2017; Pat O'Connell, WMA 2017; Julie Butcher, WMA 2017; Don Burr, CT 2018. Not pictured, Felix Rivera, CT 2018.